ISO easy way to set up a website

Need tech help? Willing to offer tech help? Either way, post here.

Moderator: jecris27

Alyssa G.

ISO easy way to set up a website

Post by Alyssa G. »

Hello one and all! I've been working on something for WFOL (ok, more than one something, LOL), but for one of them I've been thinking that I would like to set up a new website or blog page or something of that sort. The glitch is that I'm not very tech savvy. I'm much better than I used to be, but I'd still need something fairly user friendly. I know there are sites that are supposed to be fairly easy to use for this sort of thing, but I could use some suggestions.

If it helps, I have an old tumblr account, and I can handle that ok, so that level of difficulty or a bit higher would be fine. I don't know coding, so it can't be anything that needs that. I don't need anything fancy, just something where I can post things, link to other things, and have an area where (ideally) people can post comments, responses, etc. that can be seen by others.

Suggestions, anyone?

Thanks - Alyssa
jecris27
Site Admin

Re: ISO easy way to set up a website

Post by jecris27 »

Batbland is hosted at godaddy, but we've never used any of its website builder tools.

PC Magazine has reviewed a number of hosting providers. http://www.pcmag.com/products/1616 You could perhaps read some of the highly-rated ones and see if the features mentioned match your needs.

Also, some people find that a blogging service meets their needs. See Janet's site and her reviews: http://janetrivenbark.blogspot.com/
CaroleW

Re: ISO easy way to set up a website

Post by CaroleW »

Alyssa, you might want to look into Wordpress or Blogger, no coding knowledge or special software necessary. Janet's essay that J'ecris referenced is a really good reference tool.

Carole
Site Admin

Also this FORUM is a possibility

Post by 222333 »

Alyssa wrote:
I would like to set up a new website or blog page or something of that sort.